Old Lady..

Old lady

Can I write how I feel?
Can I honestly feel?
When in a crowd all I wanted to do was to disappear.
Was that a reflection or just my aging mind wandering?
I look at my hands my fingers,
Wrinkled. Crumbled.
A body decaying.
An empty vessel.
Is there a tunnel for the old and lonely?

They say goodbye.
Fresh eyes and porcelain smiles.
“We’ll visit next year.
And the next.
Till the next…”
Or maybe not.
I cough into a tissue to conceal the tear.

An alleyway
and only me.
Shadows that danced and the lion dance drums beating in the heat.
I fade away.

~ thought of an old relative that always seems so lonely when we leave after visiting her. I ponder. Take a moment to smile to an older folk or a person serving you this holiday season. We may not know the situation of another and sometimes just sometimes. A smile touches. ~ freckledsillyproser~

Leave a Reply

